Sir Charles Lanyon built and worked out a design of the main building of Queen’s University of Belfast in 1849. Lanyon Building is named after him. The building is acknowledged for its Gothic Revival facade and Great Hall. 2002 saw The Great Hall has undergone an extensive £2.5m renovation.
Great Hall is the most dramatic place in the university. It contains portraits of many inspiring and influential Queen’s people. 2000 saw a restoration of the Hall. It would later get an RIBA Award.
Entrance Hall is also known as the Black and White Hall. This hall can be seen through the main doors of the Lanyon Building. The central statue of Galileo was st up in the hall in 2001 as part of the restoration of the adjacent Great Hall.
THE LYNN BUILDING
The Lynn Building is named after its architect – William Henry Lynn. It was designed in a vibrant Ruskinian Gothic style, it was originally the main library. The Graduate School settles there being sympathetically restored and remodeled in 2015.
SCHOOL OF MUSIC HARTY ROOM
In the northeast campus part, at the end of University Square, there is the School of Music. It is built in the Tudor style. The Dining Room (now the Harty Room) was attached in 1932-33. Its definite feature is the oak hammer beam roof that is one of the finest of its type in North Ireland (NI).
This building was built in 1960 by Manchester architects, Cruickshank and Seward. It was finished in 1965. This belongs to one of the finest modern buildings in Ireland. It contains research facilities for numerous engineering courses; as well as offering a breathtaking view over Belfast.
DAVID KEIR BUILDING
It is named after the eminent Vice-Chancellor Sir David Lindsay Keir. This building is created in Neo-Georgian style in 1959. Today, it contains a number of modern lecture theatres and laboratories.